reading life – WWW – end of november

Hello loves! Today I have a short but sweet blog post for you, inspired by my friend Hadewych. She got her inspiration from Taking on a World of Words. The concept is that I share with you what I’ve recently read, what I’m currently reading and what I’d like to pick up next. They’re basically the three W’s! I would like to do this tag every two or so weeks, I hope I can keep myself to this rule. There will be a mid month and end of the month part. Lettuce begin!

What I’ve recently read

The Queen of Nothing – Holly Black

November has been quite a hectic month, so my reading plans were a bit all over the place. The last book I finished was The Queen of Nothing, and holy faeries I WAS SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK. It was my most anticipated book of 2020 and did it disappoint? Honestly, yes, a tiny bit. The hate to love trope was amazing and basically what I live for. Holly Black’s writing is beautiful and the characters are the best. That’s also why I gave it 5 stars the second I finished it, and I devoured it in 2 days, even though my school schedule was so busy. I won’t get into spoilers, but after I’ve given more thought I think I’d give it 4 stars. It was sometimes a bit too cliché and I would’ve liked more dialogue and interaction. The Folk of the Air series still remains one of my favorite trilogies ever though, and I definitely recommend it to any fantasy or faerie lover out there! (the first book is The Cruel Prince! )

What I’m currently reading

As i’ve said, my reading plans are kind of weird at the moment. I feel like I’m slowly falling into a reading slump? I’m constantly picking up new books, so I’m currently reading 6! books.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling

Let’s keep this short and sweet. I think I started this reread back in September or October and I’m really taking my time with it haha. For some reason I’m not really in the mood to pick it up again, it’s still one of my favorite books ever but it simply doesn’t have high priority at the moment!

How to Make Friends with the Dark – Kathleen Glasgow

I started this audiobook a month ago and I’m almost finished! So far it has been a very beautiful and emotional book and I hope to finish it soon. It’s about a girl who loses her mom and how she deals with grief. I love how this author writes about it, it’s really engrossing. The narrator on Scribd is really good as well.

Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

I’m not very far into Heir of Fire yet, but I’m surprisingly really enjoying it! (Be proud, Amélie and Silke haha) I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first 2 books, but after all the hype these girls threw at my head I picked it up and I have high hopes! Sarah J. Maas better not fuck up Chaol or Dorian otherwise I’m going to throw hands. (Just kidding) But seriously, it has been very fun so far and I can’t wait for all the romance that will bloom! Unfortunately, I’m not the biggest fan of our main character. She might be able to convince me otherwise, though.

Frankly in Love – David Yoon

This is again a very highly anticipated book! It’s about Frank who falls in love with a white girl, but his Korean parents wouldn’t be very happy with that, because they’d prefer it if he ended up with a Korean girl. It has the fake dating trope and I have no idea what to expect of the romance! So far I’m 59 pages into it and I’m loving the Asian parents aspect, since I can relate a lot. The writing is annoying me a tiny bit sometimes, but I hope I can get used to it.

The Foxhole Court – Nora Sakavic

After all the hype of Esmee (@esmee_books) I picked this book up! I’m reading it on ebook and occasionally on audiobook with my Scribd subscription. I’m not really sure how to describe this book, it’s about very damaged boys playing some kind of sport that looks like lacrosse, called Exy. It’s mostly character driven and I don’t know how I feel about it. I don’t feel a strong connection with the characters yet, unfortunately. There isn’t romance (yet), I know it will come at some point, but I really want it to happen asap haha.

What I’d like to read next

Our Dark Duet – Victoria Schwab

I absolutely loved This Savage Song, it has one of my favorite characters August, he’s such a cute cinnamon bun and I want to hug him! It’s an awesome fantasy book about monsters and amazing characters. Victoria Schwab is one of my favorite authors, I met her back in October! She’s such an inspiring author. I definitely have a few other books by her that I’d like to pick up soon, especially Vengeful since Vicious was such an epic book!

That’s it for this blog post! I apologize if it was a bit too long because of my never ending currently reading list. I hope you all liked it, until next time!

Love,

Irene

One Comment Add yours

  1. thepinkbookbaker says:

    Love it!

    Like

Leave a comment